Book Review: Of Poseiden

Synopsis: Of Poseidon

Title – Of Poseidon  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Series – The Syrena Legacy #1

Author – Anna Banks (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 22nd 2012

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – When Syrena prince Galen finds Emma, a human, can in fact communicate with fish, Galen and his sister decide to spend some time on land. They need to figure out if Emma is in fact a syrena. If so, she holds the gift of Poseidon and can save their kingdom.

All the signs point to Emma being a syrena, but many secrets need to be unraveled before the truth is revealed.

Continue reading

Book Review: The Thousandth Floor

The Thousandth Floor

Synopsis: 

Title -The Thousandth Floor  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Katharine McGee (Website, Goodreads)

Published – August 30th 2016

Genre – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – Here is the front flap since it introduces the characters so well:

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118. A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried, and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Continue reading

Book Review: Where All The Lights Tends To Go

Synopsis: Where All Light Tends To Go

Title – Where All Light Tends To Go  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – David Joy (Website, Goodreads)

Published – March 3rd 2015

Classification – Fiction / Country Noir / Southern Lit

Summary –  Jacob McNeely quit high school and cut most of his peers out of his life. His path is already laid out for him: working for his dad’s huge methodically organized meth ring. Jacob’s mom is suffering from addition in the small town and his first love, Maggie, is bound for bigger and better things. In a life where blood is thicker than water and life is tough in the cruel North Carolina town, Jacob can just live the life he was given…or he can choose to rise above the fate he always thought was his.

Continue reading

Book Review: Introvert Entrepreneur by Beth Buelow

Synopsis: Introvert Entrepreneur

Title – Introvert Entrepreneur  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Beth Buelow (Website, Goodreads)

Published – November 3rd 2015

Classification – Non-fiction, self-help, business

Summary – Think you have to be loud and brash to be successful in business? Think again. The strengths and traits of the typical introvert lend themselves well to entrepreneurship, as well as “intrapreneurship” and a range of business roles. In The Introvert Entrepreneur, professional coach Beth Buelow shows readers how to harness their natural gifts (including curiosity, independence, and a love of research) and counteract their challenges (such as an aversion to networking and self-promotion). She addresses a wide range of topics –from managing fears and expectations and developing a growth mindset to networking, marketing, leadership skills, and community-building–informed by interviews with introverts who have created successful businesses without compromising their core personality.

Filled with fresh insights and actionable advice, this essential guide will support anyone who’s striving to make a difference in a loud and chaotic world.

Continue reading

2016 Reading Wrap Up

Best Books of 2016*

*Read by me 🙂

Hello readers! The year 2016 is almost over and before I look to establish my reading goals and TBR list, I like to look at my past reads this year. Who is with me?

I thought it would be hard to pick favorites but once I listed out all the books I read in 2016 these by far stuck out to me. In the end, it wasn’t all that difficult.

Here are my top 5 books that I’ve read and reviewed this year (with a link to my review and a link to amazon for purchase). In the comments, let me know if you’ve read any of these!

Enjoy 🙂

Continue reading

Expanding My Mind Today 12.18.16

“Rich people and poor people have the same brain, just given different nourishment.”

Hi all! Remember my post in November explaining why I want to expand my mind everyday? (If not, you can go back and check it out here). Well, I found some more resources that I’ve stumbled upon on the web and wanted to write a quick post to share them with you!

How To Use The Reading Habits of Billionaires To Radically Improve Your Intelligence and Success

First, I wanted to share this article from medium.com that talks about why billionaires read everyday. In fact, “their specific reading habits…are highly correlated with building wealth and success.” Read the article to find out why you should read not only for pleasure, but also for self-improvement, education, and success. (If you need help on on which books to pick up, check out my non-fiction bookcase essentials.)

My Taught You Podcast

Ok, My Taught You Podcast is a resource I shared with you last time BUT I realllllly liked her ASK A THERAPIST podcast that recently released. Here is the direct link.

9 Excellent Ted Talks for Introverts

Katherinemackenziesmith.com lists of her recommended Ted Talks for Introverts. Most of these Ted Talks I’ve heard before, but this post led to a 1 hour binge of other Ted Talks that popped up in my YouTube recommendations. No regrets.

Anyway, check out her post for these top 9 and see where that leads you!

How To Create Unstoppable Success

Nicy Pidgeon is a positive psychologist, coach, and author. She offers a free download of her audio recording “How To Create Unstoppable Success” for visitors to her site. I had my audio recording sitting in my inbox for a while (sorry Nicy) and I finally got around to listening to it. With her soothing, yet present, voice, she helps you through her 5 steps to creating success in your life. I cheated and didn’t pause the recording when she told me to do my own brainstorming but I will definitely have to set aside some time to re-listen to the recording to do so because I think she does a fantastic job!

Daily Growth December 18th 2016

That is all I have for you today! Keep your eye out for more resources. And if you have any website, podcast, video, or recording that you love, link it in my comments so I (and other readers) can check it out!

10 Books That Are ALWAYS On My Bookshelf

Staples to My Personal Development Library

Self development books are not everybody’s cup of tea. While some people actually prefer a nonfiction read, others avoid the nonfiction shelves like the plague.devour-books

For myself, nonfiction books were not my choice of reading material. A few years ago, My mentor said to me, “Kristine, if you could get a sliver of a millionaire’s mind and see how they think, isn’t that worth spending the time to read their book?” I’m sure you can guess what my answer was. Being the big reader I am, I wasn’t going to back away from that challenge.

If you don’t want to take the advice from my mentor, medium.com says that “reading books are highly correlated with building wealth and success.” The wealthiest people spend lots of time reading. To create wealth and success in my own life I was going to take up this habit too.Empty minds make the most noise

And you know what? The more and more I read nonfiction, the more I find them taking up shelf space on my personal library. And I love it!

Any author, whether writing nonfiction or fiction, is conveying their ideas and research onto paper for others.

If you are not where you want to be in life, books can spark ideas, give you new insights, put a smile on your face, and perk up your mood. They can shift the way you think! They can give you a new lens to see the world from a different perspective.books-give-you-perspective

Plus, it is suggested you read a book everyday. Even if I spend the minimum of a few minutes reading a chapter out of a self development book, I’d have to have quite a selection of books on hand. That is why I always have a few that stay in my own library so I can pick them up whenever I need.

So without further delay, here they are – my staple nonfiction books that are in my personal development library:

Continue reading

Book Review: Placebo Junkies

Synopsis: Placebo Junkies

Title – Placebo Junkies  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – J. C. Carleson (Website, Goodreads)

Published – October 27th 2015

Classification – Young Adult

Summary – For Audie and her friends, “volunteering” for pharmaceutical drug trials means a quick fix and easy cash.
Sure, there’s the occasional nasty side effect, but Audie’s got things under control.

But the best fix of all is her boyfriend, Dylan, whose terminal illness just makes them even more compatible. He’s turning eighteen soon, so Audie is saving up to make it an unforgettable birthday. That means more drug trials than ever before, but Dylan is worth it.
No pain, no gain, Audie tells herself as the pills wear away at her body and mind. No pain, no gain, she repeats as her grip on reality starts to slide….

Continue reading

Book Review: The First Time She Drowned

Synopsis: The First Time She Drowned

Title – The First Time She Drowned  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Kerry Kletter (Website, Goodreads)

Published – March 15th 2016

Classification –Young Adult Fiction

Summary – Cassie O’Malley has been trying to keep her head above water – literally and metaphorically – since birth. It’s been two and a half years since Cassie’s mother dumped her in a mental institution against her will, and now, at eighteen, Cassie is finally able to reclaim her life and enter the world on her own terms.

But freedom is a poor match against a lifetime of psychological damage….

Continue reading

Book Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Synopsis:All The Bright Places

Title – All The Bright Places  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Jennifer Niven (Website, Goodreads)

Published – January 6th 2015

Classification – Young Adult

Summary – When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom… Soon it’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself. And it’s only with Finch that Violet forgets to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

Continue reading