Thirteen Reasons Why Book Review

Synopsis: Thirteen Reason Why Cover

Title – 13 Reasons Why  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Jay Asher (Website, Goodreads)

Published – October 18th 2007

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary –  Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and crush – who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice explains that there are thirteen reasons she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

Clay spend the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a first-hand witness to Hannah’s pain, and learns the truth about himself – a truth he never wanted to face.

Continue reading

The Wrath & The Dawn Book Review

Synopsis: The Wrath & The Dawn

Title – The Wrath & The Dawn  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Renee Ahdieh (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 12th 2015

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – In this re-imagining of The Arabian Nights, Shahrzad plans to avenge the death of her dearest friend by volunteering to marry the murderous boy-king of Khorasan. But Shahrzad discovers everything is not as it seems within the palace. 

Continue reading

Stiff by Mary Roach

Book Review by Miss Kristine’s Reviews

Synopsis: Stiff cover

Title – Stiff  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Mary Roach (Website, Goodreads)

Published – 2004

Classification – Non-Fiction

Summary – Stiff is an oddly compelling, often hilarious exploration of the strange lives of our bodies postmortem. For two thousand years, cadavers – some willingly, some unwittingly, have been involved in science’s boldest strides and weirdest undertakings. In this fascinating account, Mary Roach visits the good deeds of cadavers over the centuries and tells the engrossing story of our bodies when we are no longer with them.

Continue reading

The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review by Miss Kristine’s Reviews

Synopsis:The Program by Suzanne Young

Title – The Program  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Suzanne Young (Website, Goodreads)

Published – April 30th 2013

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a bank slate. Because their depression is gone – but so are their memories. 

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they’ve made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And the program is coming for them.

Continue reading

A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young

Book Review by Miss Kristine’s Reviews

Synopsis: A Need So Beatiful

Title – A Need So Beautiful  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Suzanne Young  (Website, Goodreads)

Published – June 21st 2011

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – We all want to be remembered. Charlotte’s destiny is to be forgotten.

Charlotte’s best friend thinks Charlotte might be psychic. Her boyfriend thinks she’s cheating on him. But Charlotte knows what’s really wrong: She is one of the Forgotten, a kind of angel on earth who feels the Need – a powerful, uncontrollable draw to help someone, usually a stranger.

But Charlotte never wanted this responsibility. What she wants is to help her best friend, whose life is spiraling out of control. She wants to lie in her boyfriend’s arms forever. But as the Need grows stronger, it begins to take a dangerous toll on Charlotte. And who she was, is, and will become – her mark on this earth, her very existence – is in jeopardy of disappearing completely.

Charlotte will be forced to choose: Should she embrace her fate as a Forgotten, a fate that promises to rip her from the lives of those she loves forever? Or is she willing to fight against her destiny – no matter how dark the consequences?

Continue reading

FREE Books on BookBub

FREE Books on BookBub blog title graphic

Let me first say: I never read an eBook. Still to this day I am not a huge eBook reader. However, since downloading BookBub, I have finished quite a handful of eBooks.

BookBub offers deeply discounted eBooks. The app is available for download on your phone or tablet.

To whoever did the marketing for BookBub:  props. And thank you.


Guys – I can download books for FREE!

Yes, free. If you know me at all, you know I LOVE a good deal. If a book on BookBub is not free, it is available for purchase around $0.99 – $1.99. But I download the free ones. More often than not, these are the books with sequels which, obviously, is to make you want to purchase the others in the series.

Typically the stories I download from BookBub are sweet (sometimes pretty dirty) romance stories. They are like candy – I can’t read them too often because the stories usually lack substance. They are just filler I can take on the go while I’m waiting for my next “meal”.

I wanted to compile a list of novels I downloaded from BookBub and enjoyed. Oftentimes I won’t be able to write a full book review because it was just a fluff story. That being said, there have been some that surprised me such as the first one, Emerge.

I will keep this as an ongoing list, but for now, here is a list of FREE books I’ve read. Enjoy!

Continue reading

Hold Me in Contempt by Wendy Williams

Book Review by Miss Kristine’s Reviews


Title – Hold Me in Contempt  (Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Wendy Williams (Goodreads)

Published – April 15th 2014

Classification – Fiction Romance

Summary – Kimberly Kind is trying to get beyond her roots. A successful, beautiful, and smart lawyer, she’s finally finding direction in her life and getting off the streets. But a terrible accident threatens to throw her carefully laid plans off course. Now Kim’s hiding a huge secret…one that could jeopardize everything. 

Enter King. A perfect mix of Justin Timberlake and David Beckham, the man oozes sex and has more swagger than anyone Kim’s ever met. Their chemistry is off the charts. And after passion-filled nights, the intensity of their emotions takes both of them by surprise.

Love was not supposed to be an option. Now it’s the only thing holding them together. When their pasts come back with a vengeance, can love possibly be enough?

Continue reading

Confess by Colleen Hoover

Confess by Colleen Hoover – Book Review by Miss Kristine’s Reviews

Synopsis: Confess by Colleen Hoover

Title – Confess (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Colleen Hoover (Website, Goodreads)

Published – March 10th 2015

Classification – Fiction

Summary – Auburn Reed has lost everything important to her. In her fight to rebuild her shattered life, she has her goals in sight and there is no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Own Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping a major secret from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything Auburn loves most, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Own out of it. 

To save their relationship, all Own needs to do is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin.

Continue reading

The Siren Book Review

Synopsis: The Siren by Kiera Cass

Title – The Siren  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Kiera Cass (Website, Goodreads)

Published – Self-published July 1st 2009. Re-released on January 26th 2016

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – “You must never do anything that might expose our secret. This means that, in general, you cannot form close bonds with humans. You can speak to us, and you can always commune with the Ocean, but you are deadly to humans. You are, essentially, a weapon. A very beautiful weapon. I won’t lie to you, it can be a lonely existence, but once you are done, you get to live. All you have to give, for now, is obedience and time…”

The same speech has been given hundreds of times to hundreds of beautiful girls who enter the sisterhood of sirens. Kahlen has lived by these rules for years now, patiently waiting for the life she can call her own. But when Akinli, a human, enters her world, she can’t bring herself to live by the rules anymore. Suddenly the life she’s been waiting for doesn’t seem nearly as important as the one she’s living now.

Continue reading

Strong Looks Better Naked Book Review

Synopsis: Strong Looks Better Naked

Title – Strong Looks Better Naked  (Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Khloe Kardashian 

Published – November 3rd 2015

Classification – Non-Fiction

Summary – Strong Looks Better Naked is Khloe Kardashian’s shares her fitness journey in her first biography.

“Khloe Kardashian writes with passion about the power of strength: a strong body becomes a strong mind, which builds to strength of heart, character, and ultimately strength of spirit. This is an inspiring book about how to create strength and true beauty in every area of your life, inside and out.” 

Continue reading