Book Review: Talking As Fast As I Can

Talking As Fast As I Can

Synopsis:

Title – Talking As Fast As I Can (Goodreads)

Author – Lauren Graham (Twitter, Goodreads)

Published – November 29th 2016

Genre -Nonfiction; Memoir

Summary – In Talking as Fast as I Can, Lauren Graham hits pause for a moment and looks back on her life, sharing laugh-out-loud stories about growing up, starting out as an actress, and, years later, sitting in her trailer on the Parenthood set and asking herself, “Did you, um, make it?” She opens up about the challenges of being single in Hollywood (“Strangers were worried about me; that’s how long I was single!”), the time she was asked to audition her butt for a role, and her experience being a judge on Project Runway (“It’s like I had a fashion-induced blackout”).

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audible • Barnes & Noble • iTunes • Target • Walmart

((the links above are affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links at no cost to you!))

Continue reading

Book Review: In The Country We Love

In The Country We Love

Synopsis:

Title – In The Country We Love: My Family Divided  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Diane Guerrero (Website, Goodreads) & Michelle Burford (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 3rd 2016

Genre – nonfiction

Summary – Diane Guerrero, the television actress from the megahit Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin, was just fourteen years old on the day her parents and brother were arrested and deported while she was at school. Born in the U.S., Guerrero was able to remain in the country and continue her education, depending on the kindness of family friends who took her in and helped her build a life and a successful acting career for herself, without the support system of her family.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes • Audible • Walmart

Continue reading

Book Review: Carve The Mark

Carve The Mark

Synopsis:

Title – Carve The Mark  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Veronica Roth (Goodreads)

Published – January 17th 2017

Genre – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – In a galaxy powered by the current, everyone has a gift.

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is the son of a farmer and an oracle from the frozen nation-planet of Thuvhe. Protected by his unusual currentgift, Akos is generous in spirit, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get this brother out alive — no matter what the cost.
Then Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, and the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. Will they help each other to survive, or will they destroy one another?

Where To Buy – Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes • Walmart

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Continue reading

Expanding The Mind March 2017

Hello all!

Confession: I haven’t made much progress since last month’s post deciding what I want to call this monthly update. I wanted to share what I have been into lately, add value with some links from across the web, and keep learning of thing you guys want to see more from me.

So what do I title this?

Expanding The Mind? This is what I am titling it for me, but it doesn’t really seem to fit what I am trying to say.

Monthly Update? Too boring and general.

Links I Love? Too narrow. Plus, I don’t want to copy what Modern Miss Darcy does with her updates. (Ironically, my first link is one I read about on one of her post 🙂 Thanks Ann!)

Anyway, while I mull it over, here are my links:

  • The Money Habit Blog – I wish I remembered how I stumbled upon this wonderful blog. The Money Habit is about….well, money. It is written by J.P. who retired at the age of 28. I’m sure I’ll be linking to some of her specific posts in the future because they are absolutely spot on.

Updates on my blog:

  • My favorite book I’ve read this month is Small Little Things by Jodi Picoult. You can read my full review here.
    • I also did a nonfiction book haul video! You can check out the post with the video here. And if you want to subscribe to my YouTube, you can here. Thanks for your support!


That is all from me for now!

Let me know your thoughts on what you want to see or what you really loved. Comment on a post or message me on social. Thanks!

Expanding The Mind March 31st 2017

 

Book Review: Success Intersection

Success Intersection

Synopsis:

Title – The Success Intersection  (Goodreads)

Author – Pat Williams (Goodreads)

Published – January 31st 2017

Genre – nonfiction; success; self help; leadership

Summary – From the age of seven, Pat Williams’s greatest passion was baseball. However, after two years in the minors, he had to admit it was not his greatest talent, and his career as a professional baseball player was at a dead end. But a phenomenally successful career in sports was just beginning. When he combined his passion for sports with his greatest talents–leadership, salesmanship, and promotion–he found his success intersection

Where To Buy – Amazon • Barns&Noble • Target • iBooks

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Continue reading

Nonfiction Book Haul

Hey All!

As you all may have figured out, I check out many many many books from the library. This past month I was looking at all I had checked out and realized that the majority of them were nonfiction books. Actually, 10 out of my 12 books checked out at the time were nonfiction.

I wanted to show you guys what they all were. Check out my video below!

Continue reading

Book Review: The Royal We

The Royal We

Synopsis:

Title – The Royal We  (Goodreads)

Author – Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan (Website)

Published – April 7th 2015

Genre – Fiction

Summary – American Rebecca Porter was never one for fairy tales. Her twin sister, Lacey, has always been the romantic who fantasized about glamour and royalty, fame and fortune. Yet it’s Bex who seeks adventure at Oxford and finds herself living down the hall from Prince Nicholas, Great Britain’s future king. And when Bex can’t resist falling for Nick, the person behind the prince, it propels her into a world she did not expect to inhabit, under a spotlight she is not prepared to face.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Barns&Noble • Target • iBooks

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Continue reading

Book Review: The In-Between

The In-Between

Synopsis:

Title – The In-Between

Author – Mahmoud Farraj

Published – October 10th, 2016

Genre – NonFiction

Where to BuyiBooks

Summary – In The In-Between, Mahmoud Farraj talks about the drive to do your best, positive thinking, the importance of networking and mentorship, and why passion is so critical.

Continue reading

Book Review: Small Great Things

Small Great Things

Synopsis:

Title – Small Great Things  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Jodi Picoult (Website, Goodreads)

Published – October 11th 2016

Genre – Fiction

Where to BuyAmazon • Barns&Noble • Target • iBooks

Summary – Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders or does she intervene?

Continue reading