Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Synopsis:

Title – Court of Thorns and Roses  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Sarah J. Maas (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 5th 2015

Genre – Young Adult Fantasy

Summary – When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audibe •Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes • Walmart

Continue reading

Book Review: Scrappy Little Nobody

Scrappy Little Nobody

Synopsis:

Title – Scrappy Little Nobody  (Goodreads)

Author – Anna Kendrick (Goodreads)

Published – November 15th 2016

Genre – Memoir

Summary – Even before she made a name for herself on the silver screen starring in films like Pitch Perfect, Up in the Air, Twilight, and Into the Woods, Anna Kendrick was unusually small, weird, and “10 percent defiant.”

At the ripe age of thirteen, she had already resolved to “keep the crazy inside my head where it belonged. Forever. But here’s the thing about crazy: It. Wants. Out.” In Scrappy Little Nobody, she invites readers inside her brain, sharing extraordinary and charmingly ordinary stories with candor and winningly wry observations.

With her razor-sharp wit, Anna recounts the absurdities she’s experienced on her way to and from the heart of pop culture as only she can—from her unusual path to the performing arts (Vanilla Ice and baggy neon pants may have played a role) to her double life as a middle-school student who also starred on Broadway to her initial “dating experiments” (including only liking boys who didn’t like her back) to reviewing a binder full of butt doubles to her struggle to live like an adult woman instead of a perpetual “man-child.”

Enter Anna’s world and follow her rise from “scrappy little nobody” to somebody who dazzles on the stage, the screen, and now the page—with an electric, singular voice, at once familiar and surprising, sharp and sweet, funny and serious (well, not that serious)

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audibe •Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes • Walmart

Continue reading

Book Review: Life Just Got Real

Life Just Got Real Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – Life Just Got Real  (Goodreads)

Author – Sadie Robertson (Goodreads)

Published – June 7th 2016

Genre – Young Adult

Summary – From Dancing with the Stars runner-up and Duck Dynasty star Sadie Robertson comes a fun novel about two teenage girls from different backgrounds and opposite lifestyles who discover there is more to friendship than what meets the eye.

Sixteen-year-old A.J. Stewart, born and raised in backwoods Tennessee, loves nothing more than repairing broken cars with her father and hanging out with her brothers and their friends. Not far away in the busy city of Nashville, Kate Kelly is always dressed in the latest fashion, wearing clothes from her mother’s boutique and jetting around the world with her father.

When A.J. starts going to the school Kate attends, they instantly dislike each other. But as the year progresses, Kate’s brother Val is drawn to A.J., and when prom comes around, he asks her to be his date—much to his sister’s displeasure.

The following summer at camp, the two girls continue their dislike of each other, until a surprising moment of openness when A.J. shares her faith with Kate. As their bond grows, they discover that they share an inner resolve to live life as God intended, and to live it in their own individual and original ways.

In Life Just Got Real Sadie Robertson inspires teens to find the value God has placed inside us all and to live with confidence and purpose in a very complicated world.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audibe •Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes • Walmart  • Christian Book

Continue reading

Book Review: Love Warrior

Love Warrior Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – Love Warrior  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Glennon Doyle Melton (Goodreads)

Published – September 6th 2016

Genre – Nonfiction; Memoir

Summary – Just when Glennon Doyle Melton was beginning to feel she had it all figured out—three happy children, a doting spouse, and a writing career so successful that her first book catapulted to the top of the New York Times bestseller list—her husband revealed his infidelity and she was forced to realize that nothing was as it seemed. A recovering alcoholic and bulimic, Glennon found that rock bottom was a familiar place. In the midst of crisis, she knew to hold on to what she discovered in recovery: that her deepest pain has always held within it an invitation to a richer life.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audible • Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes • Walmart

Continue reading

Book Review: The Mothers

Synopsis:

Title – The Mother  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Brit Bennett (Website, Goodreads)

Published – October 11th 2016

Genre – Adult Fiction

Summary – It is the last season of high school life for Nadia Turner, a rebellious, grief-stricken, seventeen-year-old beauty. Mourning her own mother’s recent suicide, she takes up with the local pastor’s son. Luke Sheppard is twenty-one, a former football star whose injury has reduced him to waiting tables at a diner. They are young; it’s not serious. But the pregnancy that results from this teen romance–and the subsequent cover-up–will have an impact that goes far beyond their youth. As Nadia hides her secret from everyone, including Aubrey, her God-fearing best friend, the years move quickly. Soon, Nadia, Luke, and Aubrey are full-fledged adults and still living in debt to the choices they made that one seaside summer, caught in a love triangle they must carefully maneuver, and dogged by the constant, nagging question: What if they had chosen differently? The possibilities of the road not taken are a relentless haunt.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audible • Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes

Continue reading

April 2017 Reading Wrap-Up and Links

I think I’ve got it!

Alright guys! If you have been following these for a while you know I’ve been struggling to name these monthly updates. I wanted to share my latest obsessions, online links, and a reading wrap-up. I’ve tried Daily Growth and Expanding My Mind, neither of which sounded quite right. I also thought Links I Love or Monthly Update.

What do you guys think of Reading Wrap-Up and Links? It seems to fit.

Anyway…

Links I Love

  • Do Your Kids A Favor: Take Them To The Library – I love ScarryMommy’s blog post, reminiscing of her times at the library and why her kids had library cards before they could even read. I grew up in the country and lived pretty far from the library. But I have a feeling my kids will also have a card before Kindergarten.
  • How I Slowed The Flood Of Library Holds – Teresa Preston on Book Riot figured out how to space out her holds so she doesn’t get them all at one time! Brilliant! I utilize the hold feature quite a bit and I tend to put a handful on my hold list at a time. I will have to figure out if my library system has a “suspend hold” feature. Does yours?

On The Blog

  • 6 Funny Celebrity Books from 2016 – Looking for a laugh from a celebrity you love? I made a list of books published in 2016 from celebrities: from Amy Schumer to Anna Kendrick.
  • Out of that list, my favorite would have to be Lauren Graham’s Talking As Fast As I Can. You can read my full review of her book here. A close second would have to be Mara Wilson’s Where Am I Now?. Full review here.
  • I’ve added a new “connect with me” picture here on my blog, which you can see on the right side if on desktop and on the bottom if you’re on mobile. There is also an updated picture on my About Me page, as well as new pictures some of my socials like my Instagram page and Pinterest. My brother took the pictures – isn’t he pretty talented!?

I’m looking forward to the month of May!

Got a cool link for me? How about a book you’d like reviewed? Or some suggestions for your next read? Leave a comment on any post!

You can also connect with me on my social profiles. I love hearing from you there as well!

 

Book Review: Where Am I Now?

Where Am I Now

Synopsis:

Title – Where Am I Now?  (Goodreads)

Author – Mara Wilson (Website)

Published – September 13th 2016

Genre – Nonfiction; Celebrity Memoirs

Summary – Known for her “cute” roles in Mrs. Doubtfire, Melrose Place, and Matila, Mara Wilson stole the hearts of many fans. 

Mara Wilson has always felt a little young and a little out of place: as the only child on a film set full of adults, the first daughter in a house full of boys, the sole clinically depressed member of the cheerleading squad, a valley girl in New York and a neurotic in California, and one of the few former child actors who has never been in jail or rehab. Tackling everything from how she first learned about sex on the set of Melrose Place, to losing her mother at a young age, to getting her first kiss (or was it kisses?) on a celebrity canoe trip, to not being “cute” enough to make it in Hollywood, these essays tell the story of one young woman’s journey from accidental fame to relative (but happy) obscurity. But they also illuminate a universal struggle: learning to accept yourself, and figuring out who you are and where you belong. Exquisitely crafted, revelatory, and full of the crack comic timing that has made Mara Wilson a sought-after live storyteller and Twitter star, Where Am I Now? introduces a witty, perceptive, and refreshingly candid new literary voice.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Barnes & Noble • iTunes • Audible

Continue reading

Book Review: Talking As Fast As I Can

Talking As Fast As I Can

Synopsis:

Title – Talking As Fast As I Can (Goodreads)

Author – Lauren Graham (Twitter, Goodreads)

Published – November 29th 2016

Genre -Nonfiction; Memoir

Summary – In Talking as Fast as I Can, Lauren Graham hits pause for a moment and looks back on her life, sharing laugh-out-loud stories about growing up, starting out as an actress, and, years later, sitting in her trailer on the Parenthood set and asking herself, “Did you, um, make it?” She opens up about the challenges of being single in Hollywood (“Strangers were worried about me; that’s how long I was single!”), the time she was asked to audition her butt for a role, and her experience being a judge on Project Runway (“It’s like I had a fashion-induced blackout”).

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audible • Barnes & Noble • iTunes • Target • Walmart

((the links above are affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links at no cost to you!))

Continue reading

Book Review: In The Country We Love

In The Country We Love

Synopsis:

Title – In The Country We Love: My Family Divided  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Diane Guerrero (Website, Goodreads) & Michelle Burford (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 3rd 2016

Genre – nonfiction

Summary – Diane Guerrero, the television actress from the megahit Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin, was just fourteen years old on the day her parents and brother were arrested and deported while she was at school. Born in the U.S., Guerrero was able to remain in the country and continue her education, depending on the kindness of family friends who took her in and helped her build a life and a successful acting career for herself, without the support system of her family.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes • Audible • Walmart

Continue reading