FREE Books on BookBub

FREE Books on BookBub blog title graphic

Let me first say: I never read an eBook. Still to this day I am not a huge eBook reader. However, since downloading BookBub, I have finished quite a handful of eBooks.

BookBub offers deeply discounted eBooks. The app is available for download on your phone or tablet.

To whoever did the marketing for BookBub:  props. And thank you.

BookBub

Guys – I can download books for FREE!

Yes, free. If you know me at all, you know I LOVE a good deal. If a book on BookBub is not free, it is available for purchase around $0.99 – $1.99. But I download the free ones. More often than not, these are the books with sequels which, obviously, is to make you want to purchase the others in the series.

Typically the stories I download from BookBub are sweet (sometimes pretty dirty) romance stories. They are like candy – I can’t read them too often because the stories usually lack substance. They are just filler I can take on the go while I’m waiting for my next “meal”.

I wanted to compile a list of novels I downloaded from BookBub and enjoyed. Oftentimes I won’t be able to write a full book review because it was just a fluff story. That being said, there have been some that surprised me such as the first one, Emerge.

I will keep this as an ongoing list, but for now, here is a list of FREE books I’ve read. Enjoy!

Continue reading

Hold Me in Contempt by Wendy Williams

Book Review by Miss Kristine’s Reviews

Synopsis:hold-me-in-contempt-cover

Title – Hold Me in Contempt  (Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Wendy Williams (Goodreads)

Published – April 15th 2014

Classification – Fiction Romance

Summary – Kimberly Kind is trying to get beyond her roots. A successful, beautiful, and smart lawyer, she’s finally finding direction in her life and getting off the streets. But a terrible accident threatens to throw her carefully laid plans off course. Now Kim’s hiding a huge secret…one that could jeopardize everything. 

Enter King. A perfect mix of Justin Timberlake and David Beckham, the man oozes sex and has more swagger than anyone Kim’s ever met. Their chemistry is off the charts. And after passion-filled nights, the intensity of their emotions takes both of them by surprise.

Love was not supposed to be an option. Now it’s the only thing holding them together. When their pasts come back with a vengeance, can love possibly be enough?

Continue reading

Confess by Colleen Hoover

Confess by Colleen Hoover – Book Review by Miss Kristine’s Reviews

Synopsis: Confess by Colleen Hoover

Title – Confess (Website, Goodreads, Amazon)

Author – Colleen Hoover (Website, Goodreads)

Published – March 10th 2015

Classification – Fiction

Summary – Auburn Reed has lost everything important to her. In her fight to rebuild her shattered life, she has her goals in sight and there is no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Own Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping a major secret from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything Auburn loves most, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Own out of it. 

To save their relationship, all Own needs to do is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin.

Continue reading

The Siren Book Review

Synopsis: The Siren by Kiera Cass

Title – The Siren  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Kiera Cass (Website, Goodreads)

Published – Self-published July 1st 2009. Re-released on January 26th 2016

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – “You must never do anything that might expose our secret. This means that, in general, you cannot form close bonds with humans. You can speak to us, and you can always commune with the Ocean, but you are deadly to humans. You are, essentially, a weapon. A very beautiful weapon. I won’t lie to you, it can be a lonely existence, but once you are done, you get to live. All you have to give, for now, is obedience and time…”

The same speech has been given hundreds of times to hundreds of beautiful girls who enter the sisterhood of sirens. Kahlen has lived by these rules for years now, patiently waiting for the life she can call her own. But when Akinli, a human, enters her world, she can’t bring herself to live by the rules anymore. Suddenly the life she’s been waiting for doesn’t seem nearly as important as the one she’s living now.

Continue reading

Strong Looks Better Naked Book Review

Synopsis: Strong Looks Better Naked

Title – Strong Looks Better Naked  (Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Khloe Kardashian 

Published – November 3rd 2015

Classification – Non-Fiction

Summary – Strong Looks Better Naked is Khloe Kardashian’s shares her fitness journey in her first biography.

“Khloe Kardashian writes with passion about the power of strength: a strong body becomes a strong mind, which builds to strength of heart, character, and ultimately strength of spirit. This is an inspiring book about how to create strength and true beauty in every area of your life, inside and out.” 

Continue reading

Who Moved My Cheese Book Review

Synopsis:Who Moved My Cheese by Spencer Johnson

Title – Who Moved My Cheese  (Website, GoodreadsAmazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Spencer Johnson (Website, Goodreads)

Published – September 8th 1998

Classification – Non-Fiction

Summary – Through a simple story of four mice, Spencer Johnson shows us the reality of change – and what we should do to handle the never-ending changes.

Continue reading

Emerge by SE Hall Book Review

Synopsis: Emerge by SE Hall

Title –  Emerge (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – S. E. Hall (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 15th 2013

Classification – Fiction

Summary – Laney is your sports-loving southern girl, raised by her Dad. When she starts dating Evan, they have the classic boy/girl next door romance. The time for college rolls around, however, and Laney and Evan’s relationship is changed through the transition. Between classes and sports practice, Laney tries to keep ties with old relationships and creating new ones. That is when Laney gets to know Dane and has to decide if opening up to him will compromise her relationship with Evan.

“A story of growing up, friendship, loyalty, first love, primal love…and life”

Continue reading

Living Well Spending Less Book Review

Synopsis:Living Well Spending Less by Ruth Soukup

Title – Living Well Spending Less: 12 secrets to the good life  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Ruth Soukup (Website, Goodreads)

Published – December 30th 2014

Classification – Non-Fiction

Summary – Ruth Soukup, a popular blogger of www.livingwellspendingless.com, published Living Well Spending Less to give her followers even more to be excited about! As Ruth puts it: “Through a combination of personal stories and practical action plans, this book will empower, enable, and inspire you to make real and lasting changes to your personal goals, finances, and homes in order to create the life you’ve always wanted—the Good Life”.

Continue reading

The Slight Edge Book Review

Synopsis:The Slight Edge

Title -The Slight Edge  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Jeff Olson (Website, Goodreads)

Published – September 15th 2014 (the 8th anniversary edition)

Classification – Non-fiction, Self-help

Summary – The Slight Edge is a self-help book about doing little daily activities to reach your goal. This 8th anniversary edition of The Slight Edge includes mini testimonies about the slight edge in use.

Continue reading

The Bookseller Book Review

Synopsis:The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson

Title – The Bookseller  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Cynthia Swanson (Website, Goodreads)

Published – March 3rd 2015

Classification – Fiction

Summary – Kitty Miller enjoys her life as a single lady who owns a bookstore with her best friend Frieda. However, as her dreams of her alternative life become more and more real, Kitty wonders if she is really as satisfied as she thought she was.

Continue reading