Book Review: Without Merit

Without Merit Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – Without Merit  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Colleen Hoover (Website, Goodreads)

Published – October 3rd 2017

Genre – New Adult Fiction

Summary –  The Voss family is anything but normal. They live in a repurposed church, newly baptized Dollar Voss. The once cancer-stricken mother lives in the basement, the father is married to the mother’s former nurse, the little half-brother isn’t allowed to do or eat anything fun, and the eldest siblings are irritatingly perfect. Then, there’s Merit.

Merit Voss collects trophies she hasn’t earned and secrets her family forces her to keep. While browsing the local antiques shop for her next trophy, she finds Sagan. His wit and unapologetic idealism disarm and spark renewed life into her—until she discovers that he’s completely unavailable. Merit retreats deeper into herself, watching her family from the sidelines when she learns a secret that no trophy in the world can fix.

Fed up with the lies, Merit decides to shatter the happy family illusion that she’s never been a part of before leaving them behind for good. When her escape plan fails, Merit is forced to deal with the staggering consequences of telling the truth and losing the one boy she loves.

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audio • Barnes & Noble • Target • Walmart

Continue reading

Book Review: It Ends With Us

It End With Us Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – It Ends With Us  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Colleen Hoover (Website, Goodreads)

Published – August 2nd 2016

Genre – New Adult Fiction

Summary –  Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audio • Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes • Walmart

Continue reading

Book Review: Roar

Roar Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – Roar (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Cora Carmack (Website, Goodreads)

Published – June 13th 2017

Genre – Young Adult Fantasy

Summary – In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Where To Buy – Amazon • AudioBarnes & Noble • Target • iTunes

Continue reading

Book Review: Letters to the Lost

Letters to the Lost Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – Letters to the Lost  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Brigid Kemmerer  (Website, Goodreads)

Published – April 4th 2017

Genre – Young Adult

Summary – Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother’s death, she leaves letters at her grave. It’s the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn’t the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he’s trying to escape the demons of his past.

When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can’t resist writing back. Soon, he’s opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they’re not actually strangers. When life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audibe •Barnes & Noble • Target • Walmart

Continue reading

Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Synopsis:

Title – The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Taylor Jenkins Reid (Website, Goodreads)

Published – June 13th 2017

Genre – Fiction

Summary – From Taylor Jenkins Reid comes an unforgettable and sweeping novel about one classic film actress’s relentless rise to the top—the risks she took, the loves she lost, and the long-held secrets the public could never imagine.

Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career has stagnated. Regardless of why Evelyn has chosen her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds through the decades—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.

Filled with emotional insight and written with Reid’s signature talent, this is a fascinating journey through the splendor of Old Hollywood into the harsh realities of the present day as two women struggle with what it means—and what it takes—to face the truth.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audibe •Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Continue reading

Book Review: Last Exit to Montauk

Last Exit to Montauk Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – Last Exit to Montauk  (Goodreads)

Author – Phillip Vega (Website, Goodreads)

Published – April 26th 2017

Genre – Love Story

Summary – It’s the late 1980s, summertime, on the North Shore of Long Island. The air stirs with possibilities as it often does during this time of year. And so begins the romance between one Hispanic seventeen-year-old male, on the verge of manhood and ready to conquer the world, and one beautiful and intelligent young woman named B. It is much more than romance, though. B will forever become a part of this young man’s soul. He will never forget her.

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Where To Buy – Amazon

Continue reading

Book Review: Everywhere and Every Way

Everywhere and Every Way Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – Everywhere and Every Way  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Jennifer Probst (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 31st 2016

Genre – Contemporary Romance

Summary – Ever the responsible eldest brother, Caleb Pierce started working for his father’s luxury contracting business at a young age, dreaming of one day sitting in the boss’s chair. But his father’s will throws a wrench in his plans by stipulating that Caleb share control of the family business with his two estranged brothers.

Things only get more complicated when demanding high-end home designer Morgan hires Caleb to build her a customized dream house that matches her specifications to a T—or she’ll use her powerful connections to poison the Pierce brothers’ reputation. Not one to ignore a challenge, Caleb vows to get the job done—if only he can stop getting distracted by his new client’s perfect…amenities.

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audibe • Barnes & Noble

Continue reading

Book Review: The Arrangement

The Arrangement Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – The Arrangement  (Goodreads)

Author – Sarah Dunn (Goodreads)

Published – March 21st 2017

Genre – Fiction

Summary – Lucy and Owen, ambitious, thoroughly-therapized New Yorkers, have taken the plunge, trading in their crazy life in a cramped apartment for Beekman, a bucolic Hudson Valley exurb. They’ve got a two hundred year-old house, an autistic son obsessed with the Titanic, and 17 chickens, at last count. It’s the kind of paradise where stay-at-home moms team up to cook the school’s “hot lunch,” dads grill grass-fed burgers, and, as Lucy observes, “chopping kale has become a certain kind of American housewife’s version of chopping wood.”

When friends at a wine-soaked dinner party reveal they’ve made their marriage open, sensible Lucy balks. There’s a part of her, though-the part that worries she’s become too comfortable being invisible-that’s intrigued. Why not try a short marital experiment? Six months, clear ground rules, zero questions asked. When an affair with a man in the city begins to seem more enticing than the happily-ever-after she’s known for the past nine years, Lucy must decide what truly makes her happy-“real life,” or the “experiment?”

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audibe •Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes

Continue reading

Book Review: The Dating Bender

The Dating Bender Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – The Dating Bender  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Christina Julian (Website, Goodreads)

Published – August 22nd 2017

Genre – Romance; Humor

Summary – Here I am, on my knees in front of the Trevi Fountain, hoping like hell the legend is true. That the fountain gives you solace and love by a mere toss of a coin.

Why am I here, exactly? Let’s see…

It started with my parents telling me to get married. Of course, being the good Catholic girl I am, I did.

Needless to say, that marriage nosedived, and my parents weren’t exactly happy about it.

Newly ditched and shamefully disowned, I decided to follow the advice of Babs, a tart-of-a-mentor, who offered me a job in Colorado.

Her advice? Sex…and lots of it.

The temptation of freedom, to do whatever—whoever—I wanted was too damn strong for me to say no.

And that’s how it all started. The men, the sex, the journey…

The dating bender.

because everybody deserves a do-over

I recieved an ARC in exchange for an honest review. This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Barnes & Noble

Continue reading

Book Review: Once and for All

Synopsis:

Title – Once and for All  (Website, Goodreads)

Author – Sarah Dessen (Website, Goodreads)

Published – June 6th 2017

Genre –  Young Adult

Summary – Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that’s why she’s cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm’s length. But Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged, now that he’s met the one girl he really wants. 

This post or video contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links.

Where To Buy – Amazon • Audibe •Barnes & Noble • Target • iTunes • Walmart

Continue reading